Tuesday, March 3, 2015

Review of Tempt the Night (Trust No One #5) by Dixie Lee Brown

"I'm not usually such a mess. I've just ever had anyone trying to kill me before." - Samantha McCallister

Tempt the Night
Series: Trust No One # 5
Author: Dixie Lee Brown
Publisher: Avon Impulse
Release Date: February 24th, 2015
Source: Edelweiss

Buy Links: Amazon - B&N - iTunes - Kobo
Add to Goodreads
Add Series to Goodreads

Dixie Lee Brown concludes her thrilling Trust No One series with the fast-paced tale of a damaged hero and the sexy fugitive he can't help falling for. 

Samantha "Mac" McCallister barely believes her own tale of dirty cops and murder that landed her in the hands of the sexy Jim Brady. One minute she was enjoying a ride-along in her best friend's cruiser, the next he's dead and she's wanted for his murder. Mac never expected to be hiding out from the law, but with Jim by her side, maybe she can survive long enough to clear her name. The question is, can she survive the way Jim makes her feel?

Former Navy Seal Jim Brady works best under pressure. At least he used to. Now, fighting flashbacks from his time in Iraq, he has given up everything he knows in order to protect the innocent … from himself. So working with a woman on the run from the law? Not in his plans for this lifetime. Still, something about the blue-eyed beauty tells him she's not the source of the danger—she's running from it. Deep down he knows he'll protect her no matter what. But his heart? That's another story. 

Dixie Lee Brown is back with the fifth, and sadly final, installment in her Trust No One series. Tempt the Night was a fast paced romantic suspense thriller that kept me up all night. Samantha "Mac" McCallister and Jim Brady took me on a ride with twists and turns that rivals any high speed roller coaster.

After witnessing the death of her best friend, Mac finds herself on the run and she's forced to trust a man she has never met. Mac isn't innately a strong character. However, what she lacks physically, Mac more than makes up for in sheer tenacity and the desire to survive. She'll be damned if anyone tells her to sit by while they go off to fight her battles. Oh no... She may not be a sharp shooter, but she'll be the first to step in and pick up the gun if needed. The only person Mac can turn to is Jim Brady. As a former SEAL, Brady has seen the worst and is now trying to cope with PTSD. He is inexplicably drawn to Mac and soon he'll risk his own safety to ensure her survival. Working together, they're on the run from dirty cops and a corrupt politician as they fight for the truth and give into the sexual tension surrounding them.

I loved Dixie's Trust No One series and I'm sad that it is coming to an end. Tempt the Night was the perfect conclusion to this series. I loved the characters. Not only do we get to meet Mac and learn more about Brady, we also get to see characters that we've come to love in the previous books. There were two new characters that I thought would have made perfect heroes for upcoming books... I'll have my fingers crossed for them... Perhaps in a spin-off series... Dixie is amazing. Her romantic suspense books are fun to read. Not only do I fall for the characters, but she also keeps me on the edge of my seat. I can't wait to see what Dixie has up her sleeve for her fans... Whatever it may be, I know that it'll be fun, flirty, and full of action.

DIXIE LEE BROWN lives and writes in Central Oregon, inspired by what she believes is the most gorgeous scenery anywhere. She resides with two dogs and a cat, who make sure she never takes herself too seriously. When she’s not writing, she enjoys reading, movies, and trips to the beach.

Author Links


  1. Thank you for your fabulous review of TEMPT THE NIGHT, and for showcasing it on your blog today!

  2. Thank you for hosting TEMPT THE NIGHT!