Friday, April 3, 2020

Review: Fake it 'Til You Make it (Ready or Not #1) by Jayce Carter

Fake it 'Til You Make it
Author: Jayce Carter
Series: Ready or Not #1
Publisher: Totally Bound
Published: March 17, 2020
Source: publisher for review

Buy Links: Amazon - Totally Bound
Add to Goodreads

A fake date with the hottest man she’s ever seen—what could go wrong?

Tara’s ex-husband is a cheating dirtbag, but when he hits an all-time high on the douche-meter and invites her to his wedding, she can’t stomach the idea of showing up sans date. Everyone already thinks she’s a loser—why prove them right? Over a few too many margaritas, Tara hatches a brilliant scheme to show up with the hottest man she can find on her arm. She can make her ex jealous, show everyone she’s moved on then part ways with her fake-date. No fuss, no muss. What could possibly go wrong?

Unfortunately, her fake-boyfriend Chris turns out to be more than just a ridiculously pretty face. The man is hot enough to melt the panties off a saint, and when she discovers his humor—and the mind-blowing sex he offers—she starts playing jump rope with the line between real and fake.

What started out as an easy way to make her ex jealous quickly turns messy as Tara starts to catch some very real feelings. Will she try to transform the fake relationship into something real, or will she throw in the towel and accept it was all make-believe?

Wednesday, March 25, 2020

Review: All I Ask by Corinne Michaels

All I Ask
Author: Corinne Michaels
Publisher: Forever
Published: March 17, 2020
Source: publisher for review

Buy Links: Amazon - Barnes & Noble - iBooks - Kobo - Google Play
Add to Goodreads

Fans of Christina Lauren, Colleen Hoover, and Jill Santopolo will love this breathtaking story about first love, second chances, and starting over from New York Times bestselling author Corinne Michaels.

Teagan Berkeley is trying her best. A single mom raising a precocious teen, she may have given up on her dreams, but she’s accepted her life in her small beachside hometown. Now the one person who abandoned her when she needed him the most has returned, bringing back memories of what might have been.

Derek Hartz arrives in town with a teenage daughter-and he’s full of guilt over his failed marriage and the way he ended his friendship with Teagan. He’s determined to set things right with her, but first he needs to gain her trust, something he’s not convinced he deserves.

As Teagan and Derek open up to each other-and confess their deepest secrets-it’s impossible for them to deny what’s always been between them. But just when their happily ever after is within reach, their complicated history surfaces again and threatens to keep them apart. Forever.

Friday, March 20, 2020

Review: Bayside Fantasies (Bayside Summers #6) by Melissa Foster

Bayside Fantasies
Author: Melissa Foster
Series: Bayside Summers #6
Publisher: World Literary Press
Published: March 18, 2020
Source: publisher for review

Buy Links: Amazon - Barnes & Noble - iBooks - Kobo - Google Play
Add to Goodreads

Tegan Fine has never had a plan—life, business, or otherwise. But she’s always had goals—to laugh daily and to pay it forward as often as she is able, just like her favorite uncle always did. After inheriting her great-uncle’s amphitheater, Tegan makes a risky move to a charming small town on Cape Cod to carry on her uncle’s legacy and hopefully expand the business with her new friend, Harper. Unfortunately, those goals aren’t doing much to help her plan a business strategy for her new endeavor. With Harper counting on her and her uncle’s legacy at stake, she swears off all distractions, determined to succeed. If only she could stop bumping into a certain arrogant, witty, and excruciatingly hot businessman who tweaks her nerves and invades her every thought. Including her late-night fantasies.

Self-professed workaholic Jett Masters never slows down. He lives life with no attachments—except to his clients, to whom he gives his all. A reluctant trip to his hometown has him itching to shake the ghosts of his past and get back to spinning deals and adding to his investments. But when he comes face-to-face with a gorgeous, handsy woman who is quite possibly the snarkiest and most disorganized person he’s ever met, sparks fly, and his sharp mind stumbles. He doesn’t even know her name, but he can’t get her out of his mind.

A chance encounter turns into a wild, sexy night, and their chemistry is off the charts—even if their ideals, and their lives, are worlds apart. Neither Jett nor Tegan is looking for more. Becoming friends with benefits seems like the perfect solution. But when they are trapped together in torrential weather, they work side by side in the aftermath, and every passionate kiss deepens their connection. Secrets are shared, trust is built, and no promises dare be made. As their lives move on, lines begin to blur, hearts get hurt, and their true selves come into focus. Tegan and Jett are left wondering if they make the perfect storm, or if they’ve reached the end of their bayside fantasy.

Wednesday, February 26, 2020

Review: Unforgiven (Loveless, Texas #2) by Jay Crownover

Unforgiven
Author: Jay Crownover
Series: Loveless, Texas #2
Publisher: Forever
Published: February 25, 2020
Source: publisher for review

Buy Links: Amazon - Barnes & Noble - iBooks - Kobo - Google Play
Add to Goodreads

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Marked Men series comes an irresistible and suspenseful romance between a tough Texas Ranger and his first love–a woman in danger who insists she doesn’t need his protection.

Hill Gamble is a model lawman: cool and collected, with a confident swagger to boot. Too bad all that Texas charm hasn’t gotten him anywhere in his personal life, especially since the only girl he ever loved has always been off-limits. But then Hill is assigned to investigate her father’s mysterious death, and he’s forced back to the town–and the woman–he left behind.

When Hill left Loveless, he broke Kody Lawton’s already battered heart. And now that he’s working on her father’s case, avoiding him is impossible. She can handle Hill and her unwanted feelings–until he puts his life on the line to protect her. Suddenly, Kody realizes that Hill could be taken away from her…for good.

Tuesday, February 4, 2020

Review: Mermaid Inn (Matchmaker Bay #1) by Jenny Holiday

Mermaid Inn
Author: Jenny Holiday
Series: Matchmaker Bay #1
Publisher: Forever
Published: January 28, 2020
Source: Publisher for Review

Buy Links: Amazon - Barnes & Noble - iBooks - Kobo - Google Play
Add to Goodreads

Eve Abbott has a problem--actually, make that a lot of problems. And they're all going to get worse the moment her toes hit the sand in Matchmaker Bay. Once a blissful summer escape, now the tiny town just reminds Eve of loss. Inheriting her aunt's beloved Mermaid Inn is the only reason Eve is coming back. She's definitely not ready to handle nosy neighbors, extensive renovations, or the discovery that a certain heartbreaker still lives down the street...

Police Chief Sawyer Collins always does the right thing, even when it costs him everything. Like Evie. He's spent the past ten years trying to forget her--to forget how right she felt in his arms, to forget the pain in her eyes the day she left. The last thing he expects is to see her back in town or to find that the spark between them is as strong as ever. Sawyer knows this is his only chance to prove that his feelings have always been real... before Eve turns tail and leaves for good.

Thursday, January 23, 2020

Review: Almost Just Friends (Wildstone #4) by Jill Shalvis

"I need you to know something, Gav. I never minded taking care of you and Winnie. Never. But I wasn't done being taken care of either." - Piper Manning

Almost Just Friends
Author: Jill Shalvis
Series: Wildstone #4
Publisher: Harper Collins
Published: January 21, 2020
Source: publisher for review

Buy Links: Amazon - Barnes & Noble - iBooks - Kobo - Google Play
Add to Goodreads

New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis returns to Wildstone with the touching story of finding your place in the world—and the people who make it home.

Piper Manning’s about as tough as they come, she’s had to be. She raised her siblings and they’ve thankfully flown the coop. All she has to do is finish fixing up the lake house her grandparents left her, sell it, and then she’s free.

When a massive storm hits, she runs into a tall, dark and brooding stranger, Camden Reid. There’s a spark there, one that shocks her. Surprising her further, her sister and brother return, each of them holding their own secrets. The smart move would be for Piper to ignore them all but Cam unleashes emotions deep inside of her that she can’t deny, making her yearn for something she doesn’t understand. And her siblings…well, they need each other.

Only when the secrets come out, it changes everything Piper thinks she knows about her family, herself…and Cam. Can she find a way to outrun the demons? The answer is closer than she thinks—just as the new life she craves may have already begun.

Wednesday, October 23, 2019

Review: Taming My Whiskey (The Whiskey's #6) by Melissa Foster

Taming My Whiskey
Author: Melissa Foster
Series: The Whiskey's #6
Publisher: World Literary Press
Published: October 23, 2019
Source: publisher for review

Buy Links: Amazon Kindle - Barnes & Noble - iBooks - Kobo  - Google Play - Paperback (Amazon) - Amazon Audio - Apple Audio - Audible
Add to Goodreads

Buckle up for a wild ride as Dixie Whiskey finds forever love in Taming My Whiskey, a funny, sexy, and emotionally riveting standalone romance by New York Times bestselling author Melissa Foster. The perfect love story for those who enjoy fiercely loyal and insanely sexy alpha heroes, smart, sassy heroines, strong family bonds, bikers, babies, and more!

Being the princess of the Dark Knights motorcycle club doesn’t come with a white knight or a fairy-tale castle, and that’s okay, because Dixie Whiskey has never needed a man to slay her dragons or make her whole. Even so, after watching each of her brothers fall in love, she’d sure like a shot at her own happily ever after. But with the Dark Knights watching over her and the only man she’s ever wanted out of reach, she’s not holding her breath.

As the launch of Silver-Stone Cycles’ biggest line approaches, Jace Stone is left needing a favor from the one woman who holds the power to take him to his knees. He knows when it comes to sinfully gorgeous and sharp-tongued Dixie Whiskey, he must stay on his toes and keep his walls firmly in place. But Jace needs her for his business—and Jace Stone always gets what he wants.

When the tall, gruff, and darkly handsome biker presents an opportunity that any other woman might see as the chance of a lifetime, Dixie turns him down flat. But Jace is determined, and he pulls out all the stops—sending Dixie’s overprotective brothers up in arms. Rebellious Dixie takes a stand—going after the freedom, and the man, she’s always wanted. One scorching kiss leads to an undeniable connection, but Jace isn’t looking to be tied down, and Dixie refuses to play second fiddle. Can two untamable hearts find forever love in each other’s arms?