Wednesday, October 28, 2015

Review: Major Misconduct (Aces Hockey #1) by Kelly Jamieson

"You are so not a lesbian." - Marc Dupuis

Major Misconduct
Series: Aces Hockey #1
Author: Kelly Jamieson
Publisher: Loveswept
Release Date: October 13, 2015
Source: Netgalley

Buy Links: Amazon - B&N - iTunes - Kobo
Add to Goodreads
Add Series to Goodreads

In Kelly Jamieson’s seductive new Chicago Aces romance—perfect for readers of Sawyer Bennett and Toni Aleo—a fun-loving free spirit tempts an uptight hockey star into opening himself up to love.

As the captain of the Chicago Aces, Marc Dupuis is all business. The apartment he shares with his teammate and best friend, Duncan, is a refuge from the pressures of fame. But when the sexiest woman he’s ever seen interrupts his early morning coffee wearing only a skimpy cami and matching panties, Marc can’t exactly say he minds. Their chemistry is off the charts. Unfortunately, this girl’s no random puck bunny. She’s Duncan’s little sister—and she’s moving in.

Lovey Armstrong could stare at Marc’s chiseled abs and listen to his French-Canadian accent all day. She just has no idea what’s going on inside his head: When he’s not charming her pants off, Marc makes a Zamboni machine seem warm and cuddly. Lovey knows the team’s bro code says no messing with sisters, but all these mixed messages are hard on a girl’s self-esteem—especially since she’s finally getting her new life together in Chicago. She decides he’s worth another shot . . . because if anyone can melt the ice around Marc’s heart, it’s Lovey.

Going into Major Misconduct, I really wanted to love the book for two reasons. One, it is a hockey romance and you should know by now how much I love hockey heroes. And two, it is Kelly Jamieson. I have read and loved some of her previous series and I was excited to start the new Aces Hockey series. By the end of Major Misconduct, I was very much enjoying it. However, there was one aspect of the story that left me with conflicting emotions. 

I adored Marc and the rest of the Aces. Loved them! Marc was a fantastic hero. He's strong and confident, but still keeps his heart on his sleeve. Reeling from a break-up, he's thrown a curve when Lovey sweeps into his life and into his heart. He doesn't quite know what to make of her, but he's sure willing to find out more... Even when it is against his better judgement. 

Lovey was the one aspect of the book that left me with mixed feelings. At the beginning of Major Misconduct, she comes off as a flighty, immature, and spoiled. And because of that, I really had a difficult time liking her. However, as her characters starts to grow and become aware of her actions, that was when I started to like her. It takes a few chapters before her true nature is revealed and she turns into a smart, hardworking woman that want to succeed on her own. By the end of the book, I loved her and I would love to see how she continues to grow as the series progresses.

Teammate's younger sibling is a trope that seriously needs to be explored more. Loved it! I loved the whole "secret romance" aspect of the book. Sneaking around was hot for Marc and Lovey... I liked the sly glances they shared... The smiles and the quite moments leading up to when they can be alone again. All were fabulous. The sex between them was hot! I would have liked more sexual tension, but the sizzling sexual chemistry made up for it.

Overall, I really enjoyed Major Misconduct. I had to fight through my initial reaction towards Lovey and I am so glad I did. It took a couple chapters for me to get into it, but once I was, I couldn't put the book down. I can't wait to see who is in the next book. 

Kelly Jamieson is the author of more than thirty contemporary romance novels. She’s a married mother of two who lives a very ordinary life outside of her imagination. She likes coffee (black), wine (mostly white), and shoes (high!). She also loves watching hockey.

1 comment: