Wednesday, February 3, 2016

Review: I Wish You Were Mine (Oxford #2) by Lauren Layne

"I saw you, Mollie. I've been seeing you." - Jackson Burke

I Wish You Were Mine
Series: Oxford #2
Author: Lauren Layne
Publisher: Loveswept
Release Date: February 2, 2016
Source: Netgalley

Buy Links: Amazon - B&N - Google Play
 iTunes - Kobo
Add to Goodreads
Add Series to Goodreads

Perfect for fans of Alice Clayton and Emma Chase, Lauren Layne’s Oxford series heats up in this story of forbidden desire as a brooding jock hoping for a comeback falls for a woman who’s strictly off-limits.

A year ago, Jackson Burke was married to the love of his life and playing quarterback for the Texas Redhawks. Now he’s retired, courtesy of the car accident that ruined his career—and single, after a nasty scandal torpedoed his marriage. Just as he’s starting to get used to his new life as a health and fitness columnist for Oxford magazine, his unpredictable ex shows up on his doorstep in Manhattan. Jackson should be thrilled. But he can’t stop thinking about the one person who’s always been there for him, the one girl he could never have: her younger sister.

Mollie Carrington can’t say no to Madison. After all, her older sister practically raised her. So when Madison begs for help in winning her ex-husband back, Mollie’s just glad she got over her own crush on Jackson ages ago—or so she thought. Because as Mollie reconnects with Jackson, she quickly forgets all her reasons to stay loyal to her sister. Tempted by Jackson’s mellow drawl and cowboy good looks, Mollie is sick and tired of coming in second place. But she can’t win if she doesn’t play the game.


Confession time... There are books and authors that I seriously have zero willpower against. If one of my favorite authors releases a new book, I must devour it on the spot. As a new favorite, it was no different when Lauren Layne's I Wish You Were Mine popped into my Kindle. Where art thou willpower? It was nowhere to be found and I literally finished this book that same day. I don't even think I paused to stretch my legs. Once you start a Lauren Layne book, you'll never be able to put it down.

I'm sure most fans of the Oxford series will agree with me when I say we're all waiting on pins and needles for Lincoln's book. When the blurb for I Wish You Were Mine, I was excited that this was actually going to be Jackson's book. Although we don't really get to meet him at the end of the previous book, he still struck a cord with me and I was a giddy school girl as I fell in love with him in this book. Oh boy, he was amazing. Torn between the loss of his career and his future as a journalist, he doesn't know which was is up. Then Mollie comes back into his life and everything seems right again. Always coming second to her beautiful sister, Mollie is finally able to be with the man she's always wanted. I loved these characters. Jackson was perfection, a new favorite book boyfriend. Mollie was an absolute doll. She's spunky and tenacious. She can hold her own against any man, including the infamous Lincoln. Together, Jackson and Mollie were so much fun. I loved their bickering and laughter. The ending... My heart soared with them. 

After devouring I Wish You Were Mine that day, I had a huge grin on my face. Going back to re-read it a couple weeks ago to refresh my memory, the grin was still there. This is a book that'll stick with me, one that I'm sure I'll re-read once more right before the release of the final book in the Oxford series. And be still my heart, we'll finally get to watch Lincoln in all his glory. 


Lauren Layne is the USA Today Bestselling author of contemporary romance.

Prior to becoming an author, Lauren worked in e-commerce and web-marketing. In 2011, she and her husband moved from Seattle to New York City, where Lauren decided to pursue a full-time writing career. It took six months to get her first book deal (despite ardent assurances to her husband that it would only take three). Since then, Lauren's gone on to publish ten books, including the bestselling Stiletto series, with several more on the way in 2015.

Lauren currently lives in Chicago with her husband and spoiled Pomeranian. When not writing, you'll find her at happy hour, running at a doggedly slow pace, or trying to straighten her naturally curly hair.


1 comment:

  1. Thank you so much for featuring I WISH YOU WERE MINE!

    ReplyDelete