Wednesday, January 21, 2015

A visit with Karen Ranney, author of In Your Wildest Scottish Dreams

It is my pleasure to welcome the talented Karen Ranney, whose new book, In Your Wildest Scottish Dreams, kicks off the brand new MacIain Trilogy #1. Take it away, Karen!


I post this list on my blog occasionally, but I’ve adapted it just for the MacIain trilogy:

1. The heroine is going to have flaws. She will definitely NOT be tiny, birdlike, with blond hair and so perfect that everyone immediately falls in love with her. She will have her own opinions and make her way in the world despite the fact the world treats her like a second class citizen. She’s a woman, after all, and this is the 1860s.

2. The hero is going to have flaws. However, he won’t hate women because he was disappointed in love or abandoned at birth. He will be blindsided by the heroine, however, because he will never have met anyone quite like her. That’s a requirement.

3. Sex will be an integral part of the relationship between hero and heroine. Frankly, I think sex is one of the most revealing aspects of an individual. Let’s face it, you’re really vulnerable when you’re: a.) naked. b.) drunk with passion c.) madly in love.

4. The hero is going to be a manly man. Chances are, he won’t cry in the book. But chances are he won’t pound his chest, either. Oh, one of the heroes in the trilogy will admit to crying, but anyone would in his situation.

5. The characters will grow and change during the book.

6. The characters will always be front and center and never less important than minor characters. They’re selfish that way. Hey, this is their story.

7. The plots are history based. These plots couldn’t work in any other time period. The Civil War affected a lot more countries than just the United States.

8. If there’s blood and gore it will mostly be off stage, so to speak.

9. The characters will fall in love in the course of the book. Lust and love are two different things. They might be instantly attracted, but love takes a little longer. They might fight being vulnerable. They may struggle against falling in love, but it will happen, trust me.

10. When you finish reading the book, you’ll feel better for it (at least I fervently hope so).

In Your Wildest Scottish Dreams
The MacIain Trilogy #1
Karen Ranney
January 27th, 2015
Avon Romance

Purchase Links: Amazon - B&N - iTunes - Kobo
Add to Goodreads

New York Times bestselling author Karen Ranney's first novel in a brand-new series spins the intriguing story of a beautiful widow and a devilishly handsome shipbuilder...

Seven years have passed since Glynis MacIain made the foolish mistake of declaring her love to Lennox Cameron, only to have him stare at her dumbfounded. Heartbroken, she accepted the proposal of a diplomat and moved to America, where she played the role of a dutiful wife among Washington's elite. Now a widow, Glynis is back in Scotland. Though Lennox can still unravel her with just one glance, Glynis is no longer the naïve girl Lennox knew and vows to resist him.

With the American Civil War raging, shipbuilder Lennox Cameron must complete a sleek new blockade runner for the Confederate Navy. He cannot afford any distractions, especially the one woman he's always loved. Glynis's cool demeanor tempts him to prove to her what a terrible mistake she made seven years ago.

As the war casts its long shadow across the ocean, will a secret from Glynis's past destroy any chance for a future between the two star-crossed lovers?

Karen Ranney began writing when she was five. Her first published work was The Maple Leaf, read over the school intercom when she was in the first grade. In addition to wanting to be a violinist (her parents had a special violin crafted for her when she was seven), she wanted to be a lawyer, a teacher, and, most of all, a writer. Though the violin was discarded early, she still admits to a fascination with the law, and she volunteers as a teacher whenever needed. Writing, however, has remained the overwhelming love of her life.

Author Links

1 comment: