Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Review: Every Little Kiss (Sequoia Lake #2) by Marina Adair

"Finger, spot, push. We're talking life or death here." - Liv Preston

Every Little Kiss
Series: Sequoia Lake #2
Author: Marina Adair
Publisher: Montlake
Published: June 18, 2017
Source: Publisher for Review

Buy Links: Amazon - B&N
Add to Goodreads

There’s nothing that single mom Liv Preston won’t do if it means making her six-year-old son smile again. After a heartbreaking two years, her little family is due for some fun in the sun. She just didn’t expect to find it in the big, rugged, Search and Rescue hero next door—who shows her just how exciting, and sexy, life’s adventures can be.

As head of Reno’s K-9 search division, Ford Jamison knows what it takes to make life-and-death decisions on the fly. He doesn’t hesitate, doesn’t do regrets, and has never doubted his instincts—until he makes a promise that turns his world upside down. Desperate for redemption, he returns to Sequoia Lake, only to find himself face-to-face with his past…and the one woman he can’t have. Not when his secret would destroy her—and everything she holds dear.

For Liv, finding love once was a gift. Finding it twice seems impossible, until the moment Ford’s lips meet hers. Love doesn’t always come easy, but when it’s right, it’s worth fighting for…

Have you ever read a book with a character that you grumbled and yelled at? I'm pretty sure I spent 75% of Every Little Kiss shouting "tell her the truth!" For the love of all things good in the world Ford, tell Liv the truth! In fact, while I was reading Every Little Kiss, I discovered that I have five levels before I go completely batshit crazy when dealing with a less than honest character.
  1. Budding friendship/relationship - I'm okay with you not spilling the beans because it's new and you're not sure where this connection is leading. While you should probably tell the truth, but there's still some time. 
  2. First kiss - You really need to tell her. You haven't slept together so you're not entirely in the doghouse, but you need to do it soon.
  3. After 1st Sex - Damn it. TELL HER! You're only digging yourself a deeper grave.
  4. After 2nd Sex - Girl code comes into play. If you don't tell her, I will.
  5. Welcome to the doghouse - Don't come crying to me like a little bitch when she knees you in the balls because you didn't put on your big boy panties and told her the truth.
Now you're probably wondering two things. The first... Why do I have so much time on my hands to come up with such a list? The crazy things I think up while making coffee. And the second... If I yelled at Ford so much, why did I continue to read the book? One of the best elements of Marina Adair's books is that she makes you fall in love her characters, flaws and all. Yes, I wanted to bean Ford pretty much every other chapter, the fact is that I still loved him as a character and I wanted him to fess up so he could have his HEA with the one woman that completes him. Through thick and thin, they helped each other heal. I adored Liv, Paxton, and even Ford. All broke my heart and pieced it together as they grew closer. Bonus points for watching Ford finally grovel. He sure dug himself a deep hole. I loved the first two books in Adair's Sequoia Lake series, but I am super excited about the next book. I've got my fingers cross that it is the couple I'm hoping for. 

Marina Adair is a #1 national bestselling author of romance novels. Along with the St. Helena Vineyard series, she is also the author of Sugar’s Twice as Sweet, part of the Sugar, Georgia series. She lives with her husband, daughter, and two neurotic cats in Northern California. She loves to hear from readers and likes to keep in touch, so be sure to sign up for her newsletter at

Sequoia Lake #1

1 comment: